Real estate development and urban planning, Landscape architecture / Fahey et associes

Landscape Architecture Projects

Expertise
Landscape Architecture

Project
Square Cabot

Location
Ville-Marie Borough, City of Montréal

Client
City of Montréal


SEE MORE IMAGES
READ MORE INFO

Landscape Architecture Projects

Revitalization of a Public Square, Montréal

Services

  • Coordination with the City of Montreal officials;
  • Participation in multi-disciplinary meetings with the architects, engineers and landscape architects;
  • Historical analysis of the tree coverage in the square;
  • Phytosanitary study of the existing trees;
  • Site plan and landscaping design;
  • Cost estimates;
  • Plans and specifications in landscape architecture;
  • Construction site meetings;
  • Site work supervision.

 

Recognition

  • 2nd place in the Commercial Landscaping category
    37th Annual APPQ Certified Landscaper Awards

description

Fahey et associés, in collaboration with the architecture firm Affleck + de la Riva and the engineering firm CIMA+, was mandated by the City of Montréal to review the activity programing within Cabot Square, a public square located just west of Downtown Montreal.

Since its creation in the 1900’s, the urban forest located on the site was transformed for the different uses of this public square. The recent layout is primarily based on a renovation project that took place in 1996 which included constructing an entrance to the Atwater metro station within the square. Consequently the site has become an important pedestrian transit hub.
The development objectives of the square had to consider maintaining the existing tree canopy as well as understanding the growth conditions for the mature trees present on the site. Consequently, three main objectives were identified: favouring planting of ground vegetation, the improvement of pedestrian security, and proposing adequate and durable surfacing materials.

The chosen proposal consisted of adding planting beds primarily composed of vegetation that is suitable to the urban conditions. The ground cover planting zones are delimited by decorative walls / benches that also serve as physical barriers to avoid the compaction of green spaces. An in situ stormwater management system was put in place by directing the runoff water into the planting beds.

While also maintaining the flow of pedestrian traffic, the restoration of the existing structures resulted in creating a friendly year-round gathering place. The design also included creating a space, at the extremity of the site, for a temporary stage during the summer season, for the benefit of the residents in the area.

Finally, in order to ensure the comfort and safety of pedestrians and cyclists along the principal circulation axes, planting areas provided with bike racks were provided, thereby improving the existing terraces within the square.

Landscape Architecture Projects

Expertise
Landscape Architecture

Project
Quartier 21

Location
City of Montreal

Client
City of Montreal


SEE MORE IMAGES
READ MORE INFO

Landscape Architecture Projects

Landscape Architecture Design, City of Montreal

Services

  • Coordination with City of Montreal officials;
  • Participation in multidisciplinary meeting with architects, engineers, and landscape architects;
  • Site and landscape architecture design;
  • Cost estimates;
  • Plans and specifications in landscape architecture.

 

Recognition

  • Winner of the Corps publics category
    Gala de reconnaissance en environnement et développement durable de Montréal, 2013

description

Fahey et assosiés, in collaboration with the architecture firm Affleck + de la Riva and the engineering firm CIMA+, was mandated by the City of Montreal to green a quadrant located in the heart of Downtown Montreal.  One part of the project consisted of designing rain gardens intended to filter rainwater to improve the water quality as well as redirecting some of the volume of rainwater going into the sewer system. Another part of the mandate was to expand the existing plant beds and to create new green spaces, with the goal of reducing urban heat islands. The project was carried out with a multidisciplinary approach, bringing together engineers, landscape architects and architects around the same design table.

Permanent green islands, within parking areas, were proposed for St-Mathieu and St-Marc Streets.  Rainwater falling in the public right-of-way will be directed towards these green islands landscaped with plants appropriate for these conditions and which are effective at filtering contaminants in rainwater. Compared to conventional design methods, a much higher volume of soil and crushed stone was proposed to promote the retention of water on site.

Landscape Architecture Projects

Expertise
Landscape Architecture

Project
Montcalm Street

Location
City of Gatineau

Client
City of Gatineau


SEE MORE IMAGES
READ MORE INFO

Landscape Architecture Projects

Gatineau’s Montcalm Street Project

Services

  • Coordination between various professionals, stakeholders and presentation meetings with the City;
  • Plans and specifications in landscape architecture;
  • Site works supervision.

description

Taking advantage of major repairs of municipal services, the City hired Fahey et associés to prepare plans, specifications and site work supervision of the landscaping of Montcalm and Papineau Streets, and this in respect with the Special Planning Program (PPU Downtown) that designated Montcalm Street as a prestigious urban cultural and heritage axis in the City.

Fahey et associés were mandated to design the surfaces and landscaping in this urban project which included: granite curbs, a marriage in the patterns of the precast concrete pavers and the stylized concrete surfaces using an organic approach to forms, street tree alignment and establishment of planting beds with a wavy shape including shrubs and perennials as well as urban furniture integrated in the landscaping and the street lighting design.  The project also included a dynamic public square (with shelter and bike racks, customized urban furniture, mapping signage, drinking fountain and a work of art) and the construction of a recreational trail which connects to the existing network.

Landscape Architecture Projects

Expertise
Landscape Architecture

Project
Jean-Guy-Décarie Park

Location
City of Saint-Jérôme

Client
City of Saint-Jérôme

SEE MORE IMAGES
READ MORE INFO

Landscape Architecture Projects

Neighbourhood Park Design, Saint-Jérôme, QC

Services

  • Musical thematic concept;
  • Landscape concept;
  • Play area and walking paths;
  • Landscape architecture plans and specifications;
  • Site supervision.

description

Fahey et associés was mandated by the City of Saint-Jérôme to design a neighbourhood park with a music theme.

The City of Saint-Jérôme planned to open the Jean-Guy-Décarie Park in Spring of 2013. A large proportion of neighbouring streets are named after musicians. As such, the design was articulated as an extension of this concept. The park is primarily composed of children’s play areas, a multifunctional area and different pedestrian paths. Bleachers are included to evoke the concept of a performance hall and facilitate group activities while providing a rest area for parents with views to the play area for the supervision of children.

We also created a landscape and furniture design that respected the budget allocated by the municipality. In addition, the landscape concept promotes pride and creates a greater sense of belonging for citizens.

The City of Saint-Jérôme was implementing a project to improve the appearance of the André-Prévost Street area as a way of preserving the quality of life of residents. As such, the park design was done in a way as to enhance the aesthetic and functional qualities of the area.

Fahey et associés Inc.

  

2019 © All rights reserved

Firme de consultants en urbanisme, architecture de paysage et design urbain / Fahey et associés

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Expertise
Architecture de paysage
et design urbain

Projet
Square Cabot

Lieu
Arrondissement de Ville-Marie, ville de Montréal

Client
Ville de Montréal


VOIR PLUS D'IMAGES
LIRE PLUS D'INFOS

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Réaménagement d’un parc municipal, Montréal

Services offerts

  • Coordination avec les représentants de la ville de Montréal;
  • Rencontres multidisciplinaires entre architectes, ingénieurs et architectes paysagistes; 
  • Analyse historique du couvert arborescent du square;
  • Étude phytosanitaire des arbres existants;
  • Concept d’aménagement;
  • Estimation des coûts;
  • Plans d’exécution et devis d’architecture de paysage;
  • Réunions de chantier;
  • Suivi durant les travaux.

 

Reconnaissance

  • Gagnant du 2e prix, catégorie « Paysage du monde des affaires »
    37e Concours annuel d’aménagement paysager de l’APPQ, 2016

description

Fahey et associés, en collaboration avec la firme d’architecture Affleck + de la Riva et la firme de génie-conseil CIMA+, a été mandatée par la Ville de Montréal afin de revoir la programmation des activités présentes dans le square Cabot situé à l’ouest du centre-ville.

Depuis sa création dans les années 1900, la forêt urbaine du site s’est transformée selon les différentes vocations du square. L’aménagement que nous connaissons aujourd’hui est principalement à l’image de la réfection de 1996, notamment par la présence de l’édicule de la station de métro Atwater. Par le fait même, le site devint un important pôle de transit piétonnier.

Les objectifs d’aménagement devaient impérativement prendre en considération le maintien de la canopée ainsi que les conditions de croissance des arbres présents sur le site. Trois principaux volets ont alors été mis de l’avant : la favorisation de l’implantation de végétation au sol, l’amélioration de la sécurité des passants et la proposition de revêtements de surface adéquats et durables.
Une proposition d’îlots de verdure essentiellement constitués de végétaux adaptés aux conditions urbaines. Ces zones de plantation de couvres-sols sont délimitées par des murets-bancs, servant également de barrières physiques pour éviter la compaction des espaces verts. Une gestion efficace des eaux de ruissellement in situ a été considérée, notamment en dirigeant les eaux de surface vers les îlots de plantation.

Tout en conservant la fluidité de la circulation piétonne, les structures existantes restaurées serviront de lieux de rassemblement conviviaux en toute saison. L’aménagement est également conçu afin de recevoir un espace scène temporaire durant la période estivale, à l’extrémité est du square, faisant le plaisir des résidents. 

De plus, afin d’assurer le confort des piétons et des cyclistes sur les principaux axes de circulation avoisinants, des fosses de plantation agrémentées de supports à vélo sont prévues, revalorisant les terrasses existantes.

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Expertise
Architecture de paysage
et design urbain

Projet
Quartier 21

Lieu
Ville de Montréal

Client
Ville de Montréal


VOIR PLUS D'IMAGES
LIRE PLUS D'INFOS

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Architecture de paysage Ville de Montréal

Services offerts

  • Coordination avec les représentants de la Ville de Montréal;
  • Rencontres multidisciplinaires entre architectes, ingénieurs et architectes paysagistes;
  • Concept d’aménagement;
  • Estimation des coûts;
  • Plans et devis d’architecture de paysage.

 

Reconnaissance

  • Lauréat de la catégorie « Corps publics »
    Gala de reconnaissance en environnement et développement durable de Montréal, 2013

description

Fahey et associés, en collaboration avec la firme d’architecture Affleck + de la Riva et la firme en ingénierie CIMA+, a été mandatée par la Ville de Montréal afin de reverdir un quadrilatère situé au centre-ville de Montréal.  D’une part, le projet consiste en la conception de jardins de pluie destinés à filtrer les eaux de ruissellement pour améliorer leur qualité tout en réduisant le volume et le débit redirigé vers le réseau d’égouts. D’autre part, l’intervention prévoit aussi l’agrandissement de fosses de plantation existantes et la création de nouveaux espaces verts, dans l’optique de réduire les îlots de chaleur. Le projet s’est déroulé dans un esprit multidisciplinaire, regroupant ingénieurs, architectes paysagistes et architectes autour de la même table à dessin.

Des îlots de plantation permanents, occupant des espaces de stationnement, ont été prévus pour les rues St-Mathieu et St-Marc. Les eaux de pluie tombant dans l’emprise publique seront redirigées vers ces îlots aménagés avec les végétaux les mieux adaptés et les plus performants pour la filtration des contaminants. En comparaison à un aménagement conventionnel, un volume de terre et de pierre concassée maintes fois supérieur a été prévu, pour favoriser la rétention des eaux. 

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Expertise
Architecture de paysage
et design urbain

Projet
Rue Montcalm

Lieu
Ville de Gatineau

Client
Ville de Gatineau


VOIR PLUS D'IMAGES
LIRE PLUS D'INFOS

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Design urbain projet Rue Montcalm, Ville de Gatineau

Services offerts

  • Coordination entre les divers professionnels, intervenants et rencontres de présentation à la Ville;
  • Plans et devis d’architecture de paysage;
  • Surveillance de chantier. 

description

Profitant de travaux majeurs de réfection des services municipaux, la Ville a retenu les services de la firme pour effectuer la préparation des plans, des devis et la surveillance des travaux d’aménagement paysager des rues Montcalm et Papineau, et ce, en respect avec le programme particulier d’urbanisme (PPU centre-ville) qui attribue à la rue Montcalm le titre d’axe culturel urbain et patrimonial de prestige de la Ville.

Fahey et associés a été mandatée afin de planifier l’aménagement des surfaces et la plantation de ce projet urbain : bordures de granite, mariage de motifs de pavés de béton préfabriqué et de surfaces stylisées de béton issu d’une approche organique des formes, alignement d’arbres de rue et aménagement de bacs de plantation de formes ondulées avec végétation arbustive et vivaces, proposition de mobilier intégré aux aménagements et du concept d’éclairage de la rue. Le projet comporte également l’aménagement d’une placette dynamique (avec abri et supports à vélos, mobilier urbain conçu sur mesure, affiche cartographique, fontaine à boire, intégration d’œuvre d’art) et la construction d’un sentier récréatif se raccordant au réseau existant.

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Expertise
Architecture de paysage
et design urbain

Projet
Parc Jean-Guy-Décarie

Lieu
Ville de Saint-Jérôme

Client
Ville de Saint-Jérôme

VOIR PLUS D'IMAGES
LIRE PLUS D'INFOS

Réalisations architecture de paysage et design urbain

Aménagement d'un parc de quartier, Saint-Jérôme QC

Services offerts

  • Concept thématique musical;
  • Concept d’aménagement paysager;
  • Implantation d’une aire de jeux et sentiers;
  • Plans et devis d’architecture de paysage;
  • Supervision des travaux.

description

Fahey et associés a été mandatée par la Ville de Saint-Jérôme afin de concevoir un parc de quartier sur la thématique de la musique.

La ville de St-Jérôme souhaitait réaliser le parc Jean-Guy Décarie au printemps 2013. Une grande proportion des rues avoisinantes du site portent le nom d’artistes musiciens. Ainsi, les idées et pistes d’aménagement ont été articulées en continuité avec ce concept. Principalement, ce parc fait place à des aires de jeu pour enfants, une aire polyvalente et différents parcours piétonniers. Des gradins sont installés pour évoquer le concept de salle de spectacles et ainsi développer certaines activités de groupe, permettre la détente des parents et donner un point de vue sur l’aire de jeux et ainsi faciliter la surveillance des enfants.

Nous avons également procédé à l’élaboration de l’ensemble des activités de plantations, du mobilier tout cela en respectant les budgets établis par la municipalité. En outre, le concept de plantation suggéré favorise la fierté et augmente le sentiment d’appartenance des citoyens.

Soucieux de préserver la qualité de vie des habitants, la municipalité de St-Jérôme souhaitait rehausser l’apparence du secteur de la rue André-Prévost. Les aménagements proposés contribuent à la valorisation du milieu de façon esthétique et fonctionnelle.

Fahey et associés Inc.

  

2018 © Tous droits réservés